in ,

Nuclear Weapons International Monitoring System Operations

The Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) International Monitoring System (IMS) was established to detect worldwide nuclear weapons tests via an extensive network that includes radionuclide, seismic, infrasound, and hydroacoustic monitoring technologies.

The Defense Threat Reduction Agency (DTRA), as the Department of Defense (DoD) executive agent for the Nuclear Arms Control Technology (NACT) program, manages, operates, and sustains 24 of these US IMS stations, involving primary and auxiliary seismic, infrasound, and radionuclide monitoring stations.

These NACT managed US IMS stations are located across a wide range of disparate and extreme environments in the continental United States (CONUS), Alaska, Hawaii, USG-controlled Pacific Territories, and Antarctica.  All of the NACT radionuclide stations have an installed IMS particulate monitoring system and four of these NACT radionuclide locations also include the installation of an IMS noble gas monitoring system.

DTRA is now seeking a contractor to operate and sustain the 13 US IMS waveform monitoring stations (7 Infrasound, one Primary Seismic, and 5 Auxiliary Seismic beginning on 1 February 2017. Additionally, beginning on 17 August 2017, DTRA seeks a performer to operate and sustain 11 US IMS radionuclide monitoring stations (11 radionuclide particulate with four collocated noble gas monitoring systems).

Each of these US IMS stations was designed and installed under supervision of the NACT program and according to the technical requirements specified in the relevant IMS Operational Manual. Each of these US IMS stations has also been formally certified by the PTS for IMS operations. Each station is a custom design and various site-specific requirements were taken into consideration in the station design and installation so as to optimize data quality, data availability, and improve long-term operations and sustainment.

Capability requirements for this effort detailed under Solicitation Number: HDTRA1-NACT-FY17. Interested organizations must submit capability statements by March 11, 2016.

Upcoming Events

NNSA Safety Office Technical Qualification Program Accreditation

NNSA Safety Office Recognized for Safe Operation of Nuclear Facilities

Nuclear Forensics Cover of Analytical Chemistry

The Current State of Nuclear Forensics