Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) - Profiles

No Photo Available

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Work 500 C Street S.W. Washington DC 20472 Work Phone: (202) 646-2500 Website: FEMA


FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that the U.S. works together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

In the aftermath of the September 11 attacks, FEMA and 21 other legacy organizations were brought under the newly formed Department of Homeland Security. FEMA is organized into ten Regional Offices:

  • Region I Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont
  • Region II New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands
  • Region III Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia and W. Virginia
  • Region IV Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, N. Carolina, S. Carolina and Tennessee
  • Region V Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio and Wisconsin
  • Region VI Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas
  • Region VII Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska
  • Region VIII Colorado, Montana, N. Dakota, S. Dakota, Utah and Wyoming
  • Region IX Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, American Samoa, Guam, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Republic of the Marshall Islands, and Federated States of Micronesia
  • Region X Alaska, Idaho, Oregon and Washington

Highlighted FEMA programs and organizations include:

The agency has an annual budget of approximately $11 Billion and directly employs over 7500 personnel.